Book Review: Body of Evidence by Irene Hannon (Triple Threat #3)

About this Book-

Forensic pathologist Grace Reilly has seen her share of unusual deaths in rural Missouri. But when she begins to notice a curious pattern in autopsies of elderly residents whose demise appears to be natural, she takes her concerns to Sheriff Nate Cox.

Nate is skeptical about the link Grace is seeing between the deaths–and her suspicions of foul play. But her persistence is compelling. Once she finally convinces him her theory is credible and they join forces to investigate, danger follows. Because exposing the truth could destroy several lives–including Grace’s.

Queen of inspirational romantic suspense Irene Hannon closes out her bestselling Triple Threat series with this gripping tale of secrets revealed and romance sparked.

My Review-

Similar Reviews:

This was a really satisfying story and a great ending to this series! I liked the first two books in this series–they weren’t my all time favorites, but I really enjoyed them–and I had high expectations for this book: I loved it! Now, I had the same problems with it as I had with the first two books in the series, but this one is my favorite out of the three.

tw // vomiting (including discussions of and descriptions of the smell), infidelity (not detailed, but a heavy part of this book), assault, Grace is a pathologist, so there are some pretty graphic descriptions of her job, including her sawing into a skull, weighing a liver, etc.

This book was super well-rounded, which I really like. The pacing is really well done: it kept my attention the whole time and I was hooked to see where the story would go. There was also more development for the characters: Grace and Nate were better developed than some of the other characters written by Hannon that I’d read. Their internal monologue was consistent and made sense with the plot line, which sometimes doesn’t happen in Christian suspense fiction.

There was once again a lot of physical attraction between the two main characters, but it was less than the other books by Hannon I read, which was good (some of the other descriptions are . . . A Lot). There was definitely quite a bit of noticing, and there were some spicier innuendos (one scene where one character mentions on the phone that they are about to go change and leave, and the other finds that information very interesting, and they make a joke about it, Nate sees Grace’s “curves” under her shirt and thinks that he needs to go take a cold shower, among others). The two characters do have insta-love, but not in an annoying way.

One thing about this book that I wasn’t a huge fan of was the strict male and female divide: Nate’s testosterone was mentioned multiple times, which was a little uncomfy, and there other such observations: women’s intuition, a man’s strength, and stuff like that, which I’m not a huge fan of. Nate is immediately very protective of Grace, almost as soon as they meet, which is supposed to be a marker of his manly protectiveness, which is also a little . . . sus for me.

By far the best part of this book is the suspense plot: it had the best plot out of Christian suspense fiction that I’ve read in a while, and it kept me guessing all the way up to the end. The ending was really well foreshadowed, with the appropriate stakes and the appropriate responses by the characters. There were just enough red herrings to keep the mystery complex, but without making it confusing. The ending wasn’t rushed, and everything tied up in a satisfying way. I was really afraid that the plot was going to go one direction that is overused (at least in my opinion) and it didn’t go that way, which made me really happy. There were some chapters from the perspective of the antagonist, revealing more information as the story went on, which I really liked, because it added to the foreshadowing.

There were some comments that made me not enjoy this book was much as I would have (Grace has an intense security system on her house in rural Missouri, and the author describes it as a security fetish??????? WHY USE THE WORD FETISH), but overall the plot was really interesting and overall, I really enjoyed this book!

My Rating-

4/5

I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion; I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.